Gibson Brands Forums

To Mod or Not to Mod

a.thomas411

I'm getting the itch to get another Les Paul. I currently have a Trad Pro II Goldtop and a Classic in Sea Foam. If I'm not mistaken they both have the same pickups. 57 classic and Super 57. I apologize if I'm incorrect on that. They both just played so well at GC that I bought them without checking out the hardware. I wanted to get some feedback on whether or not it is better to get a Studio and change out the pickups, tone knobs, etc... Or just mod one I already have? I don't know if I could bring myself to mod one of the two I already own.I don't gig, although I'd love too, but I'm a rhythmn guitarist that can't sing. I do record my own tunes and play with some buddies here and there. Since I dont gig, is it really necessary to mod in the first place? Is it sacreligious to mod out a LP? I also own a ES 335 Studio, but am hesitant to mess with that one too. I appreciate the feedback.

what exactly are you thinking of modding mate? or are you thinking of just modding for modding's sake?

if you just want to experiment around, may I suggest buying something like an Epi LP Standard and use that as your Frankenstein test bed. far less painfull stuffing up a $600 git than a $6,000 git.

what exactly are you thinking of modding mate? or are you thinking of just modding for modding's sake?

if you just want to experiment around, may I suggest buying something like an Epi LP Standard and use that as your Frankenstein test bed. far less painfull stuffing up a $600 git than a $6,000 git.

much better to stuff up a $600 guitar :rolleyes:

Personally, I'll happily mod anything. But it really is up to you.

I got a Les Paul Traditional (2012, had been hiding in some stock room for a few years) just over a month ago. I love it, and I've just finished making it do what I want. It was wonderful as it was, but seeing as I'm keeping it, and it's mine, I'm happy to fiddle with it until it's spot-on.