Gibson Brands Forums

a Defect ?

Ami

Hello everyone,

Few weeks ago I purchased my new dreamy Gibson Les Paul Standard Premium Plus Gold Top.

On my first day at home I started playing and Boom ! the 1st string got stuck between the metal frets and the neck frame... All over the neck there is a gap between the frets and the frame.

does anyone know how this thing could have happened ?

is this flaw should be repaired or my guitar should be replaced ?

Thanks !

Ami.

• Replies 55
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hello everyone,

Few weeks ago I purchased my new dreamy Gibson Les Paul Standard Premium Plus Gold Top.

On my first day at home I started playing and Boom ! the 1st string got stuck between the metal frets and the neck frame... All over the neck there is a gap between the frets and the frame.

Thanks !

Ami.

Do you have any pics. of the problem you could post?

Hey bence and scottpaine_69

Thanks very much for your reply!

indeed this is exactly the place. all over my guitar there is a gap between this nib (as shown on Bence pic)and the fret.

unfortunately the guitar is in the main service lab for inspection so I don't have any pics right now. should have the guitar back by the end of this week.

the store refuses to replace the guitar and suggesting a repair... well I feel kinda crappy with the idea of having a brand new guitar being fixed after coming with a flaw from the manufacturer...

also I would love to hear if any of you have any idea about the repairing process.

Cheers,

Ami.

Hello Ami!

If You google "Gibson nib separation" or such, You'll find the so-called super-glue method being the most popular approach for fixing this issue. It means, that You apply white super glue in multiple steps to a gap, until it becomes in level with the frets, then using fine sandpapers or file, You finalize the shape.