Gibson Brands Forums

What Can I Expect?

Silvercrow

In furtherance of my work on my SG, I'll be removing the pickguard. I have no experience with Gibsons; I assume the pickups are attached to the 'guard?

So I saw on the Stew Mac site that they sell a little clip dealie to hold the spring and screw when installing / reinstalling pups. Is this a necessary / make-life-easier item or can I gut it out without it?

I'm seriously thinking of putting covers on the pickups and rings, if I decide to do it. (The guitar has uncovered pups right now, 490R / 490T. I watched a video on a pro putting on covers- he made it look easy. I can solder, but is there anything else I should know before jumping into this end of the pool? I know it will alter the sound / tone, but I do prefer the look of covered pickups with rings.

It appears that the covers have different spacing for the holes? Is there really differences between the covers offered by various manufacturers?

Thanks for any and all info folks!

Brian

If it's about this one, the pickups are indeed mounted to the pickguard. There also can be top routings for cable canals in the body:

ea7b0bfd-438a-4191-bebc-a5a68b1c73ce.jpg

To be honest, I would leave the pickguard on although I try to avoid them wherever possible.

If it's about this one, the pickups are indeed mounted to the pickguard. There also can be top routings for cable canals in the body:

ea7b0bfd-438a-4191-bebc-a5a68b1c73ce.jpg

To be honest, I would leave the pickguard on although I try to avoid them wherever possible.

Hey Capmaster- how are ya? Thanks for the reply. It is, in fact, about this guitar [wub] . I don't want to mess with it, really. But I'm going to be doing a full polish on this guitar and I'd like to get under the pickguard as I do it. I thought that while I was at it...covers and rings.