Gibson Brands Forums

1963 headstock clearcoat issue

1963JayFifty

Hey guys i'm new to the gibson forum, i recently acquired my grandfathers 1963 Gibson J50(he bought it in 1964 for $600 canadian), it plays smooth like butter, action is on point everything is great, my only issue is the headstock logo, my grandfather kept putting the capo on there and the clearcoat is looking like ****, do any of you think it'd be safe to sand or wet sand until the whole clear coat is off and leave it natural or should i just leave it alone?

thanks in advance for the help,

-Chester

• Replies 78
  • Created
  • Last Reply

i checked the serial number,its a 63, regardless he bought it in '64 so it can't be older then that , this guitar has had a lot of work done over the years, some guy sat on it once and it got rebuilt by an old luthier on the east coast, the guitar now has a sunburst top and custom bridge, he probably fixed the headstock during that time,

not here to argue with you just asking for advice,

I agree with ksdaddy that the headstock looks odd in the photo for a Gibson of this age but if it's a significantly messed with '63 and the current headstock bothers you then the best route would be find a decent repairer who is experienced in refinishes and have it redone. The originality is long gone anyway, so it's down to whatever looks best to you.

back of head stock,it wont let me post any more photos,the files of the ones i posted were probably too big, back and sides of guitar looks fine, the binding has yellows with age, and the bridge was custom made with 2 fleur de lis mother of pearl inlay ,made of rosewood. when the guitar was broken it was only the top replaced and stained and the bridge replaced, new grover tuners as well because old ones stopped working properly.