Gibson Brands Forums: New Portastudio - Gibson Brands Forums

Jump to content

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

New Portastudio

#1 User is offline   rct 

  • Advanced Member
  • Group: All Access
  • Posts: 8863
  • Joined: 31-March 11
  • LocationSouthern New Jersey

Posted 05 March 2015 - 10:10 PM

This week I had to finally retire my TASCAM 2488. Ten years old, buttons failing like they all did, cd unit intermittent. It was getting hard to work with, and I started a new song and just said fukk it. Have a DP32SD coming probably tomorrow, same work flow for me, some changes hardware wise but nothing traumatic. Just no CD, which is a good thing, I can burn them all day at work.

Good times. I hope.

rct
0

#2 User is offline   BobF_ 

  • Arachibutyrophobic
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 2037
  • Joined: 14-January 13
  • Locationsouthcentral MO

Posted 06 March 2015 - 07:35 AM

Nice box. I picked up a similar unit, Zoom R24 last year.

[thumbup]
'99 Historic '57 Les Paul Custom Black Beauty - '14 LP Studio Pro - PRS SE ZM - Peavey AT200 - Yamaha A3M - Peavey Milestone Bass
Laney IRT Studio - Blackstar HT5RH - Bugera V22 - THR10 - Boss GT-001 - Zoom R24 - Fishman TriplePlay

"The shark swam out to his deepest waters and brooded in the old clean currents. He was very hungry that season"
- from Fiat Voluntas Tua
0

#3 User is offline   capmaster 

  • Fretboard Seizer
  • Group: All Access
  • Posts: 9774
  • Joined: 18-May 12
  • Locationnear Munich, Upper Bavaria, Germany

Posted 06 March 2015 - 07:46 AM

View Postrct, on 05 March 2015 - 10:10 PM, said:

....

Good times. I hope.

rct

I'm almost sure. [thumbup]
DVCVNT VOLENTEM FATA NOLENTEM TRAHVNT
(The Fates lead the willing and drag those who are unwilling.)
Lucius Annaeus Seneca
0

#4 User is offline   sparquelito 

  • Tourette's Syndrome Sufferer
  • Group: All Access
  • Posts: 2293
  • Joined: 31-May 15
  • LocationNorthern Alabama

Posted 13 June 2015 - 04:50 AM

I have an old Tascam Portastudio from the 1980's, a cassette tape recorder.
It still works like a charm.

I also own the Tascam 2488 NEO.

Believe it or not, I prefer the functions and controls on the old tape model better.

The NEO is just too complicated.
Either that, or the instruction manual is poorly written.
:(
Am I alone in this?

Am I alone?
0

#5 User is offline   PrairieSchooner 

  • Advanced Member
  • Group: All Access
  • Posts: 299
  • Joined: 07-October 13
  • LocationKansas prairie

Posted 02 July 2015 - 03:49 PM

View Postsparquelito, on 13 June 2015 - 04:50 AM, said:


The NEO is just too complicated.
Either that, or the instruction manual is poorly written.
:(


Same reason my DP-03 stays in the box. Or else I'm just too dumb.
And then there are the times when the wolves are silent and the moon is howling. - George Carlin
0

#6 User is offline   weekendstate 

  • Member
  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 25
  • Joined: 13-August 16

Posted 13 August 2016 - 01:00 PM

I just got a Tascam DP32-SD, not had a chance to use it much yet. Used my mates Advanced Jumbo to record a couple of tracks and it sounded amazing but getting a lot of noise from my 1954 J160e when I plug that in which I know is due to the guitar and the original p90 known to feedback a lot though PAs. Need to get a pick up fitted to my other acoustic before I will get proper use of the Tascam but so far seems a very good purchase. Anyone else got one?
0

#7 User is offline   sparquelito 

  • Tourette's Syndrome Sufferer
  • Group: All Access
  • Posts: 2293
  • Joined: 31-May 15
  • LocationNorthern Alabama

Posted 20 August 2016 - 05:59 AM

weekendstate,

Have you considered just recording the guitar via an open mic, such as a Shure 57?

The Tascam DP32-SD appears to be a newer and more improved version of mine and rct's old 2488.

I'm sure it will yield high-quality results for you!!
:)
Am I alone in this?

Am I alone?
0

#8 User is offline   goldtop2 

  • Member
  • Group: All Access
  • Posts: 56
  • Joined: 22-June 16

Posted 22 August 2016 - 11:41 AM

you had that all this time and never got robbed?
2000's Les Paul Studio
0

#9 User is offline   goldtop2 

  • Member
  • Group: All Access
  • Posts: 56
  • Joined: 22-June 16

Posted 08 January 2018 - 06:12 AM

So last tascam got ripped off or something i may have owed some money icr.

Just got the tscam 24.

My question to all the other guys is what are you running the sound out to?

Obviously its not a power amp too.
2000's Les Paul Studio
0

#10 User is offline   rct 

  • Advanced Member
  • Group: All Access
  • Posts: 8863
  • Joined: 31-March 11
  • LocationSouthern New Jersey

Posted 15 January 2018 - 01:10 PM

View Postgoldtop2, on 08 January 2018 - 06:12 AM, said:

So last tascam got ripped off or something i may have owed some money icr.

Just got the tscam 24.

My question to all the other guys is what are you running the sound out to?

Obviously its not a power amp too.


I run left right out to a couple of Samson monitor splitters. Left right in, three pairs of monitors out, I use two Samsons, I like monitors. A lot.

Theres a few out there, Samson used to be at SamAsh don't know if still around, Behringer, ART if they still exist, Mackie Big Knob was a high end monitor feed.

rct
0

#11 User is offline   goldtop2 

  • Member
  • Group: All Access
  • Posts: 56
  • Joined: 22-June 16

Posted 17 January 2018 - 10:36 AM

The samson monitors have pre-amps i take it?

This post has been edited by goldtop2: 17 January 2018 - 11:00 AM

2000's Les Paul Studio
0

#12 User is offline   rct 

  • Advanced Member
  • Group: All Access
  • Posts: 8863
  • Joined: 31-March 11
  • LocationSouthern New Jersey

Posted 23 January 2018 - 06:56 PM

You want powered monitors.

rct
0

#13 User is offline   goldtop2 

  • Member
  • Group: All Access
  • Posts: 56
  • Joined: 22-June 16

Posted 24 April 2018 - 06:33 AM

 rct, on 23 January 2018 - 06:56 PM, said:

You want powered monitors.

rct

Well the stereo out from the tracking device is 200ohms. Having said that you can run that into any stereo input
On most stereo amps to power a set of speakers.
I didnt get powered monitors because I already have floor speakers.
The one thing I take into account is the impedance of the speakers to the output of the stereo amp. Most stereo amps will give you info regarding how many ohms you should go out to. This I would advise to check because if its rated at 8ohms and you go out to 4ohm speakers you could melt the internal related circuits on the amp.

This post has been edited by goldtop2: 24 April 2018 - 06:37 AM

2000's Les Paul Studio
0

Share this topic:


Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users