Gibson Brands Forums

beginner restoration advice/guidance vintage les paul

So I bought this guitar off my friends dad that passed away and I had been wanting to restore it (get it in the best playing condition) and now I have a baby coming and am trying to get the most out of it if I'm going to let it go, it's old, it appears to have his name written into it (in pen?) the wood isn't carved from it just indented....looking for help and guidance considering this is the best forum for that on a restoration to put it in the best selling condition. I know it's been refretted, I can see they also installed the tuners bad because one of them is uneven, and one of them I was gently tightening the screw and the head of the screw just popped off (see pic) and the screen itself is still inside the hole. I know I'm a beginner and noob but I think my intentions are simple and wish to borrow some wisdom to get this guitar where I need it to be.

Any help helps

Thanks!

could not get the images to work so heres a link

http://s104.photobucket.com/user/rocker777x666/library/guitar

some interesting photos. the headstock claims it to be a deluxe,

IMG_2933_zpssgter0hh.jpg

yet those had mini humbuckers, which the pickups you show here appear to be full sized humbuckers. maybe it's just the photos..

IMG_2926_zpsonpimcll.jpg

so what is it you're actually looking to restore?

So you are just looking to clean it up and get it as "good as it gets" to sell it? or are you looking to change any of the physical aspects (like return the machine heads to stock Gibsons, etc) and ya they kinda missed the mark with the tuner replacements, now you have extra holes, that if you are to put Klusons back on there,.. you wont be able to hide them.

I think I'd do the former, clean it up, get it setup up as close as possible, and list it..

I gather your intentions are to sell it.