Gibson Brands Forums

Sheraton II serial number (again...)

jaleonard

Hi all, I'm new to the forum having just recently bought a Sheraton II lefty VS - generally very pleased with it and already happy with my decision.

I know the serial number threads has been done to death, but I have one that doesn't seem to match any of the classifications.....at least I could do with some

knowledge on it; I'm new to Epiphone and archtops as well so will probably spend some time on this very forum mining the knowledge on here.

Anyhow, the serial number is either;

1(one)07001266 or,

I07001266

My first question being, is that a 1 or an I? The label calls the guitar a Sheration II (as in WWII, doubleya doubleya eye eye), so when the numbers didn't

show anything up I went down that route, but even using that method the numbers don't follow the standard YYMMFFPPPP.

Where I am at with it is that the current Chinese models coming out of China (which I'm pretty sure it was made)might have reverted to the old Gibson sequencing; to my

understanding this was (is?) YDDDYBBBB (B being, lets say, Batch). This puts my guitar at the 70th day of the year 2010, unit number 1266, (the 7th day would be 007 I presume, which could actually be quite cool to have a secret

agent Epi, however, I digress). So, is this possible? I can't make any other combo work. A fake? It is Gibsons factory apparently so it could make sense they revert to their own sequence? Just a theory. Does anyone else have similar numbering out there? Cheers.

What color is the label orange or brown? Sounds like you got Korean model. Is the serial on the label or stamped on the headstock?

I've sent the details to customer service, but here is a pic of the label. No stamp on the headstock, but what looks like an outline of a removed sticker; and then

the label inside the main body. I'm just curious to trace the providence, although it won't effect the way it plays, which for me it is playing great.

Thanks for the reply.