Gibson Brands Forums

Gettin' Down With DGDGBD

Wetdog

I think everybody who has ever even dabbled with the blues has messed around open tunings. The two kind of go hand in hand. First two tunes I ever learned to play in Open G were House's "Death Letter Blues" and Bukka's "Fixin' to Die." But I would think that Keef and Zep did more than anybody to introduce open tunings to rockers.

Dog: the old guys called this one "Spanish" for the tune Spanish Fandango, a std played in that tuning. A staple for blues singers: Johnson (Terrepalne and Kitchen), House (County Line), Patton (Banty Rooster, Moon Going Down), Skip James (Special Rider), McTell (Blues at Midnight), Fred McDowell (Train I Ride, Kokomo). And from their to folk pop and rock. Jorma's Water Song (you wuld like that one), Jacksons Browne (Running on Empty), B Riatts version of Thing Called Love.

I have been fiddling in Open G tuning since I got my 1976 metal Dobro used about a few years after that sometime. Slide can sound great in G tuning and horrible in standard tuning when beginning slide, so open tunings like G and also Open D are grist for the mill [mellow] .....

I have loved the tuning since hearing RJ and Fred Mc, so I won't go into all that, but will mention up a few tricks and traps.

It is the root of the multiple guitar syndrome, though I have seen J Hammond Jnr give everyone a lesson in fast retuning live on stage mere feet in front of me. But usually it good to have a spare guitar in Open G to save tuning and ...breaking lots of strings...especially at a gig. (But then you need a spare guitar for standard tuning, a spare guitar for open G tuning and a spare guitar for Open D and a spare guitar for DADGAD and and and and..... [biggrin]

Now some tricks...

The joy of Open G dulls when you play the same 2 or 3 songs over and over and get stuck. It dulls a bit more when you play with a singer or a band and you don't know the standard tuning songs they launch in to without warning you......