Gibson Brands Forums

Indonesia or China

Mickthemiller

I have two AJ 220s acoustics one Indonesian one Chinese. My Texan is Indonesian. I think that the Indonesian Epis sound better and are better built - from the three I have.

What are other people's opinions?

I have an ej200sce and a masterbilt dr500mce.The former from China, the latter from Indonesia.Absolutely they aren't Martins or Gibsons or Taylors etc. but I have to wonder how many guitar aficionados are that sophisticated that it becomes "this is absolutely superior to that"? Seems to me that it's like wine and art-whatever makes you appear erudite is what you portray yourself to be.It'd be interesting to hear the sonic proof of all who have the final word on any given brand name demonstrated for all to hear.Brings to mind the book "No Logo".But you can't make a ton of money going down that road, can you? And yes I do appreciate good craftsmanship.But I think we've gone past that.Just saying.

I have an ej200sce and a masterbilt dr500mce.The former from China, the latter from Indonesia.

Interesting. I have an EJ200 from 2006 made in Indonesia, as well as a 2013 EJ200sce also made in Indonesia. My DR500 mce is also Indonesian. All are great and better than the Chinese Epi acoustics I road tested. Are you sure your EJ200sce is Chinese? Are they really making the same guitar in two different factories, in two different countries?

Interesting. I have an EJ200 from 2006 made in Indonesia, as well as a 2013 EJ200sce also made in Indonesia. My DR500 mce is also Indonesian. All are great and better than the Chinese Epi acoustics I road tested. Are you sure your EJ200sce is Chinese? Are they really making the same guitar in two different factories, in two different countries?