Gibson Brands Forums

Is this lp legit?

Alex95

First thing, i'm no expert.

Second thing, the pictures are of a pretty poor quality.

Third thing, I don't see anything obvious to me that it is not legit.

Who is the seller? Someone on craigslist/ebay/etc?

Hey, is this lp legit? Never heard of it before. Should be a Standard Plus. Serialnr is 106700612. And how much would you pay for it?

First off I know this will not help unless the guitar is in your posestion. But maybe the seller can take some photos of what I describe and send them to you. The fake out there look very good on the outside and are hard to spot in photos. In good photos you could spot if the nut is cheap plastic along with the inlays.

There are a couple of ways to tell if it's a fake or not. From the pics. I can't see any issues. The first thing you can check is the truss rod. Take off the truss rod cover and check to see what kind of head it has on it. A gibson truss rod has a setup with a nut on it. If it has a truss rod with a allen head (it is a head were you insert the tool into it) then that is somewhat questionable. You can pull out one of the pickups and check to see what it says, Most fakes have epiphone pups in it and the wire is very thin and cheap. If you take off the back plat for the control nobs you can see if the copasitors are cheap or orange drop caps. Again the wire will look cheap and the solder joints will look horrible. Hope this helps...

From pics, I've got three concerns.

1) The pics are terrible - bad angles, bad lighting and bad focus.

2) Can't see the bridge clearly, but the posts concern me - they look a bit too large.

3) Can't see a whole lotta Plus in that top.