Gibson Brands Forums

Gibson L5S

Dave F

It looks very nice indeed, a later L-5S with the 'harmonica' bridge and fine-tuning tailpiece; the earlier models of this guitar had a trapeze tailpiece. Google this - Gibson L5S images.

I have no idea how rare that burst is. Both the guitar top and the neck are 3 piece.

As the seller says, it is absolutely beautiful and looks like a fine example in good original condition.

I am in the UK; $3800 comes out at slightly under £2600(GBP) so by my standards that is an incredibly good price.

However there is one important detail; will you like playing it?

I'm no expert and have only ever played an L-5S on one occasion; to me it felt very different from a LP and most other solidbody guitars and might take some getting used to.

I think it was something to do with the height of the neck off the body, unlike a LP where the neck is set in....

Nonetheless for that price I'd buy it anyway if I had the money! A stunner!

It looks very nice indeed, a later L-5S with the 'harmonica' bridge and fine-tuning tailpiece; the earlier models of this guitar had a trapeze tailpiece. Google this - Gibson L5S images.

I have no idea how rare that burst is. Both the guitar top and the neck are 3 piece.

As the seller says, it is absolutely beautiful and looks like a fine example in good original condition.

I am in the UK; $3800 comes out at slightly under £2600(GBP) so by my standards that is an incredibly good price.

However there is one important detail; will you like playing it?

I'm no expert and have only ever played an L-5S on one occasion; to me it felt very different from a LP and most other solidbody guitars and might take some getting used to.

I think it was something to do with the height of the neck off the body, unlike a LP where the neck is set in....

Nonetheless for that price I'd buy it anyway if I had the money! A stunner!