Gibson Brands Forums

weird guitar

user5150

hello there! this is my first time being on this forum and my first post. Im confused at the moment and looking for some help! I bought what I thought was an Epi ES 339 Pro about a year ago. It always made me curious why it only had one f-hole, but I never really took the time to look it up until last night when I was putting in on Ebay. I found out that it was refurbished by Musical Instrument Reclamation Center once i looked up the stock number. so now i realize how oblivious ive been because if you look at the bottom of the fingerboard you can see where the nano mag pickup used to live, it has the usb and stereo outputs, and only one f-hole. so it appears that it used to be an ES 339 Ultra, but now its a pro. the nano mag was replaced by a discrete piece of wood on the neck, the stereo output obviously doesnt work, and it has the coil tapping pickups like the pro does. I cant understand why anyone would do this to a guitar... but my question for you guys is, have you ever seen something like this before? and why would they do this in the first place? and i am trying to sell it but im not sure how to sell it since it isnt really a pro nor an ultra. any feedback greatly appreciated!

I'm sorry that happened. I have never bought a "refurb", no matter what they say. That's a guitar someone brought back because it sucks, and we can't sell things that suck. You got hosed, for lack of a better word, and that is just wrong. If I were you'd I'd bite down hard and move on, I don't know how you could possibly explain that guitar to any other buyer now that you know what is up with it.

Good luck. It sucks hard.

rct