Gibson Brands Forums

Pick-ups Output Suddenly Different

PelhamBlueFire

Hello everyone,

Last Thursday, I dropped off my EDS-1275 at our local guitar store. I asked the luthier to replace all - 18! - strings, which he did. After I returned home, I started playing on my favorite guitar. What I noticed right away, was how the bridge pick-up had a lower output than before. Seriously, the neck pick-up just blows it out of the water. This affects both necks, so it can't really be an issue of one faulty pick-up. I never had this problem before, because both pick-ups always had a level output.

So, what could cause this to happen? One way this can happen, that I know off, is if the guy at the store lowered those particular pick-ups. But why wouldn't he inform me? I have no other idea how this could happen so suddenly. Any thoughts, guys?

Yes, I did switch from .010 to .009 gauge strings. Could you explain why this has such a drastic effect on the output?

Changing gauge about one step only should not cause such a severe level drop in my opinion, and I also wonder why it would be that extremely different through different pickup positions. Was the change of gauges the only one?

Hello!

I have replaced the strings on my Les Paul Recording on the weekend. I have switched gauges from 10-46s to 10-49s with wound G string.

I was surprised, how loud and dynamic the guitar became...

Cheers... Bence

Changing gauge about one step only should not cause such a severe level drop in my opinion, and I also wonder why it would be that extremely different through different pickup positions. Was the change of gauges the only one?

Yes, I went from a set of .010 Ernie's to a set of .009 of said brand. I have never encountered this before. Could be something in the electronics, too, right? Because, I think nobody would deny that this particular guitar isn't your standard guitar.