Gibson Brands Forums

Restoration Tips Firebird 1964

Hey everyone,

First time poster. I was hoping for some friendly advice. For starters I am a drummer and a little out of my league here.

I recently came into an old Gibson Firebird III. It was my fathers.

I had it officially looked at by a member of the Gibson team and he said it was a 1964 Gibson Firebird III Reverse body in Polaris White. Which is as a far as I know one of the harder to find colors.

It is in excellent condition(in my opinion.) It was kept in a climate controlled area for the vast majority of its life.

I guess I have 2 questions. Do I even have it worked on at all? It has very minor chip in the head. The fret board is worn down, but I guess that is typical for a 51 year old guitar. Should I even apply lemon oil? There is very minor discoloration to each of the metal parts that separate the frets(sorry I don't know what they are called) should I have them polished? Also, polish the pickups? New strings?

I am leaning towards selling it. Any advice from some of the veterans out there would be very helpful.

Thanks so much everyone.

-Adam

As a player as well as collector of playing guitars don't do anything post several 360 degree pictures I would like to see it but don't do any restoration

*) 0 (* b

Here's a couple photos. Thanks for the advice. Hopefully they show up. So I shouldn't do anything? Not even polish the fret board?

post-71951-024561200 1430699440_thumb.jpg

post-71951-019292600 1430699451_thumb.jpg

post-71951-025236400 1430699465_thumb.jpg

post-71951-025307100 1430699478_thumb.jpg

post-71951-036823700 1430699489_thumb.jpg

Yeah id say leave it be..

Maybe just some lemon oil on the fretboard to freshen it up.. but I think collectors want the battle scars on a guitar, its part of what makes them what they are, part of the Mojo if you like.. Well I think anyway..