Gibson Brands Forums

The ‘T’ word,

merciful-evans

The ‘T’ word, and why it shouldn’t matter.

This thread has spun off from the ‘maple or mahogany neck’ discussion in the Memphis area. It concerns the ‘T’ word ;)

tonewoods

1/ I honestly don’t know the truth of the matter.

2/ It’s not very important to me. (this is the main thrust of this OP)

However, I have been playing for 45 years and have formed the following unverifiable views concerning solid body guitars:

A/ I am inclined to think the wood used in guitar construction does make a difference. If I am right, I would say it’s a small difference and cannot account for the vast differences we hear between one instrument and another.

B/ I think the design of the instrument is of more significance than the body & neck materials used.

The above opinions A & B are not important; not even to me. If I find compelling evidence tomorrow to alter those views, I will do so without ordeal.

Nevertheless I see people get very uptight about this, IMO disproportionately so. It has become an article of faith to them, and I mean that literally.

From the other thread:

Since this thread has become mired in emotive diatribe, unsubstantiated assertions and bizarre convolutions, I will make clear my POV on the issue of tonewoods in a separate thread.

Our guitars will sound the same regardless of the reason why they sound as they do. Why become distraught about it? I suspect it may be because it validates the earlier decision to spend a lot of money on certain guitars.

Even if that's so, It’s still not important; or not to me anyway. So here is an example of what I mean:

The last guitar I bought was a Gibson. I bought it because I liked it, and I still do. But I when I bought it I was fully aware that it *wasnt as good* as another guitar that cost me 5 times less a few months earlier.