Gibson Brands Forums

BlueChip picks

merciful-evans

BlueChip picks.

Revolutionary material or Emperor’s new clothes?

These have gained attention due to their high price, but users are very complimentary about them. I was curious enough to buy one and find out what all the fuss was about.

BlueChip TAD 40: I choose this one because it most closely resembles my usual pick (Gibson Triangular).

The tip radius of the TAD 40 is 3.75mm/.147” (measured with a rad gauge). The thickness is indicated by the number 40, so this is .040” thick. This is heavier than I would normally use.

Gibson Triangles: I’ve been using the Gibsons for about 30 years. They are slightly larger than most picks and the radius on the tip is about 2.5mm/.098” (measured using a rad gauge)

The mediums are what I normally use. These are .68mm/.027” thick but vary quite bit.

Another BlueChip review stated that the sheets the picks are made from costs $1000. Since I have no idea of the sheet size or how many picks it makes, this is useless data. I did try to weigh my pick but it was too light to register on my digital scales. I would hazard a punt that it is as costly as a precious metal or stone by weight though.

BlueChip Claims: They are supposed to be hard wearing, self lubricating and tacky to the touch.

Hard Wearing: Too early to tell. But these can be fettled using files and sandpaper, so presumably they will wear the same way other plastics do.

Self Lubricating: Tusq nuts are also supposed to be self lubricating. I can only suppose this occurs at the point of wear? Or does it ooze snake oil? Who knows? ;)

Tacky: Finally something I can test. I challenge this. I don’t find it tacky and am just a likely to drop it as any other pick.

Speed bevel: (Caution! this feature uses a shredder ‘trigger’ word). What is it? Look at an old well worn pick at the edges. You should see angular wear at the point of contact (or attack).