Gibson Brands Forums

Gremlins In My Gibson

ChrisGM

Hi everyone,

As I mentioned on my intro, I recently purchased, about 2 months ago, a brand new/old stock 2013 Gibson LP Studio electric guitar from Thomann in Germany, so it was a mail order to Spain, sight unseen. I have to add that Thomann packed it incredibly well, the best I’ve ever seen..

I am a beginner player and I've been trying to learn more about guitar care/maintenance/setup etc.. I want to know how my instrument works and how to properly care for it.

I have a long background in mechanical maintenance and I’m also a collector/repairer of antique American railway pocket watches, so I have a good knowledge of mechanical practice, machining, tooling etc at least I think I do LOL

I’ll try to keep this as brief and factual as possible, but I've noticed something on my guitar and I was wondering if you could confirm or deny what I think it might be..

Initially it was playing fine, except that it was very hard to depress the strings the further down the neck I went, lets say from the 12th fret – 17th.

I read in many places that it is always a wise thing to have a guitar setup when it is new (and at intervals) I live in Spain currently and I can say with all honesty that finding any kind of thing here, apart from a tobacco, bread, clothing store is like a treasure hunt, so finding a luthier would be a quest for the holy grail, then I’d have to cross my fingers that he wouldn’t make things worse.. I’m not implying that there are not good craftsmen here, there are many very talented people, it’s just finding them. I’m not in any circle of musicians over here so I don’t have a word of mouth contact. My only viable option would be to pack it back up and ship it back to Germany…ouch.