Gibson Brands Forums

LP Novice question

J.4knee

I am a pretty inexperienced when it comes to Gibson products and I have a potentially odd question. Since I bought my LP TP II I have pretty much kept volume and tone controls sex at max as I adjusted from the feel of my Fenders to my LP. Any way I just started playing around trying to get feel for how the controls affect the tone of the guitar. So far I am just digging this thing more and more. I have noticed one thing that seems odd to me. When I switch to the neck PUP the PUP switch is in the Rhythm or up position but the bottom set of controls are in play and vice versa for the lead or down position and bridge PUP the upper set of controls are used. This just seems backward to me. Are all LP set up this way

I am a pretty inexperienced when it comes to Gibson products and I have a potentially odd question. Since I bought my LP TP II I have pretty much kept volume and tone controls sex at max as I adjusted from the feel of my Fenders to my LP. Any way I just started playing around trying to get feel for how the controls affect the tone of the guitar. So far I am just digging this thing more and more. I have noticed one thing that seems odd to me. When I switch to the neck PUP the PUP switch is in the Rhythm or up position but the bottom set of controls are in play and vice versa for the lead or down position and bridge PUP the upper set of controls are used. This just seems backward to me. Are all LP set up this way

Yes, and SG's too.

Guest Farnsbarns

It should be the other way around. Could your switch be upside down? Is the sound brightest with the switch down? Is should be, and the bottom set.of controls (as seen by the player) should be in affect.

I'm slightly confused by this one, too. It sounds like there might be an issue somewhere in that; if you've got the p/u switch in up or down position - only the controls for the selected pickup should be active.