Gibson Brands Forums

Trying some new photography!

Flight959

Hi,

Some of you may know I am a keen amateur photographer but recently I have started loosing interest as I feel I can't progress any further as my inspiration has been stumped. In a relatively short time I have had good success with photographing weddings, functions along with family photo shoots. I have found the business side of photography has stolen the enjoyment that made me interested in the first place. Don't get me wrong, there is decent money to be made and I have made it but it just isn't the same when I am charging.

Its got to the stage where I no longer snap away in the spare time I have. I used to take a camera most places on days out, now I just leave my gear at home.

This week I have decided to try and gain some knowledge in the MACRO field of photography and hopefully relight my interest. Get back to doing it as a hobby and love it again.

I started today taking a small handful of photos in a lavender bush outside my house starting with photographing Bee's.

These are my first few shots and although I have a long way to go I feel I did well. I don't have any proper macro kit but for these shots I used a 12mm extension ring between a 24-105 lens and a Canon 5Dmkiii and a 7D.

The art of macro photography is achieving Focus with good DOF.... A way round this is to take multiple shots then align and stack them in post processing.

Anyway... These shots are Hand held single images....Off camera flash 1/8 power.. Not bad for my first go..... What do you guys think?

19813308690_d34dc0f3cc_z.jpgBee by Simon Clarkson, on Flickr

19814618209_836b26a98e_z.jpgBee by Simon Clarkson, on Flickr

20001307375_5949d29ea7_z.jpgBee by Simon Clarkson, on Flickr

Regards

And thanks for reading!

Flight959

This week I have decided to try and gain some knowledge in the MACRO field of photography and hopefully relight my interest....