Gibson Brands Forums

advice needed on getting into jazz instruments

zaskar1

hi all

i was thinking of learning to play jazz, and should i get a beginner instrument like an epiphone or just

jump in and get a gibson.

as the gibson is at least 5x the cost of an epiphone, i guess if i didnt like it

i wouldnt be out that much money.

as i havent played hardly any archtops, what would you suggest

probably would start out with chord based pieces, and then branch out to more complex

i have been playing acoustic for many years, and have some classical guitar training,

so i am not totally a novice.

z

When you say "jazz instruments", I'm going to assume you mean full bodied archtops.

I will be the first to tell you these types of guitars are not for everyone. They do not play or sound like the flattop you're used to playing, they are a breed all their own.

Even I "stepped up" to the Gibsons I now play. My first full bodied archtop was a Samick built "Washburn" L-5 style/size instrument. I played it for a few years before I dropped the big bucks on my L-5CES. My advise, as I did, would be to buy a quality built brand name Asian made instrument for starters, see if you take to it, and then start planning/saving for your ultimate dream Gibson.

You'll also have to make a few decisions in various archtop designs, such as 16" body, 17", 18"? Soundboard mounted pickup, floating pickup (fingerboard mounted or pickguard mounted), or none? Full thickness body, medium or thin? Wooden bridge saddle, or tune-o-matic style? Etc, etc, etc.

• 2 weeks later...

hi

L5larry, thanks for the advice regarding getting

an asian guitar

i recently purchased an epip emperor joe pass

waiting for it to arrive.

i will see how i do with it before committing significant funds

regards

z

hi

an asian guitar

regards

z

That's a great instrument to start off with. Good luck.