Gibson Brands Forums

Something strange has happened....

This might be the wrong spot for this post, so apologies in advance.

Something worrying has happened. I was a performing artist for 22 years and decided to give the guitar a serious try. I'd noodled all my life on one, but got super serious about 5 months ago. Having a musical background let me advance pretty quickly, so I'd been practicing some pretty mon ster shreds.

Anyway, a week ago I woke up to my left hand index and ring finger and thumb tip tingling. There was some dullness in the wrist as well. I nust chalked it up to sleeping on it wrong and the affects of daily playing.

Well...it has been a week, and the symptoms have lessoned, but they are still there. Is this something that sounds familiar? My wife is an RN and checked my vitals and am OK. I developed calluses months ago and have played the same strings for months. Anyone experience this?

Perhaps a CTS (not the electronics company but carpal tunnel syndrome) which I have, too? The outer side of the ring finger and the little finger are not affected since these are supplied by the ulnaris nerves, not the medianus.

I never developed calluses and don't need them, but know CTS very well... [crying]

I hate to say this, but it sounds pretty much like the stuff that I had going in the month or so before I got up at 0300 to go to the bathroom Memorial Day ... and flopped to the floor because nothing on my left side worked that morning... A stroke.

My wife, also a nurse, said she'd seen it coming. I, of course, was perfectly healthy in spite of the odd tingling and numbness - and sometimes not-so-well working of the hand. The horse that never slows, never tires...

I still have some numbness on the left side, left pinkie too... and am working on getting back to a more or less normal except the left hand is taking a lot longer than the leg and arm...