Gibson Brands Forums

Les Paul Faded Special D C v Hamer Special

oneeyedog

Hi folks, I'm looking at possibly a 2004 LP Special DC faded cherry against a Hamer Special 93 as my next guitar purchase. The Hamer pups have been swapped out for Kinman Regular P-90 Hx pickups although the orig pups are part of the sale. The LP is stock. They are both the same price. I'm not going to have much playing time on them as they are private sales :( so I'm looking for any thoughts/experiences on these guitars. I'm new to P90's... but I love the tone! Any answers appreciated....... which one and why?

thanks

john

I had a Hamer for a short while... and while it wasn't a bad guitar it (well the one I had) was more like an Epiphone than a Gibson...

As I have said before, Epiphone make nice guitars especially for the price but a Gibson it aint...

Id say the same for the Hamer... nice, but its no Gibson.....

I have a DC Special from 2009, its an AMAZING guitar.. I mean really, I love it as much as I love my Standard or Classic. It has one of the fastest and slimest neck profiles of all my guitars and sounds amazing....

So yeah, im a bit biased but id say Gibson any day of the week.

I don't know which kind Rabs had but the Hamer Special of yore really was special and they were the shizz for quite a few years. The ones I used were really nice and I almost bought one late 90s at Philly Phall. So since I don't know I'll just say the Yankee Hamers were not at all Epiphone like.

Can't tell you what to buy though, you'll have to play them and decide. The Hamer could be really a Special and the Gibson can be just as meh as many are. The Hamer pickups were really really good, I'm not kidding. Somebody around here has to have had one or still does.

rct

I have to say I'm a bit with rct on this one.