Gibson Brands Forums

Guitars are like a bag of golf clubs.....

onewilyfool

I was talking to another guitar affecianado the other day...on why it is good to have different size and sounding guitars....And I thought, just like you need a different club for different situations on a golf course.....different guitars give different sounds....and are like that too.......comments, elaborations, elongations, opinions, digressions??????

A group of well selected guitars gives you an array of voices to blend and create with. Individual characteristics inspire independent and original creations.

I have been writing songs for about 25 years. I can tell you what guitar I wrote every song on. I hear the voice of the original guitar when I play the song, even though I might use an entirely different guitar to play it today.

My collection spans the range of steel string guitars built between the beginning of the 20th Century and the final stages of our current decade. When you can actually pick up and play guitar history, you get a sense of the path luthiers have followed from the scrappy, barky early tones to the ringing bells and pianos a fine guitar emulates today.

Strumming a 1920s archtop gives you a real sense of the music of the day - the scrunchy chords blend together until one of those old phonograph voices starts ringing in your head.

A 1930s flat will ring the early tones of bluegrass and country in a way no modern guitar ever will, and a few strums on a 1970s acoustic will remind you of simple words like smooth.

Pluck some chords in open tuning finger style on a Santa Cruz, and the mindset of California embraces you.

Some painters can create amazing works with black and a single brush. For me, a pallet of custom blends and exotic brushes brings the canvas to life, and life to the canvas.

If someone tells you that you own too many guitars, tell them they know too many words.

So that must mean I'm allowed to have 14 guitars' date=' good call[/quote']