Gibson Brands Forums

New Les Paul Trad arrived this morning. Should I return it?

grovesnor

Hi guys. I took delivery of my 2015 Les Paul Traditional today. Unfortunately it has a few issues.

I was just wondering if these are 'common' problems easily fixed or stuff that should command a return/exchange/refund?

I'm new to guitars and this was my first buy! [thumbup]

Here's the list of issues and some quick snaps of those issues:

1. Frets 7 and 14 have lifted(see attached pics)

2. The pickup selector is loose and wobbles around when in the central position.

3. The electronic cavity cover has been cut too small leaving a penny wide gap around the edges. Screws were not counter sunk, one is at an angle.

4. The fingerboard has scoring parallel to some of the frets which is clearly visible on frets #13, 14, 15, 16, 17 & 18

Cosmetic issues:

5. The maple has a run below the pickup selector (minor cosmetic but this is supposed to be AA top)

6. The neck joint is uneven and glue has seeped out and dried on the finish under the half lap joint (again cosmetic only but disappointing).

7. There is a dink in the lacquer below the 12th fret on the horn. Minor again but not acceptable on a new guitar.

8. The pick guard is covered in fine scratches, presumably from the factory. It did not have a plastic peel off coating on it.

Hi guys thanks for the replies. I was pretty surprised but then I was expecting a dud given the price paid was only £900.

I was suspicious initially and called them to clarify the fact it was not B grade or a sale return etc. They assured me all orders were dispatched from their warehouse etc. The box the guitar arrived in was from a German music store not the UK retailer I purchased from. Alarm bells ringing when I noticed the internal Gibson freight box had had the blue security tape cut already. My heart sank at that point as I knew what would be waiting for me inside the case.. *sigh