Gibson Brands Forums

Epi Ej200SCE Action and Battery Life

Fern

Hello,

I recently purchased a brand new Epiphone EJ200SCE in Natural Finish. Love the look, love the sound I heard but I'm wondering if i could get your input on a few issues (or maybe they're not).

1 - In a week of having this guitar i already replaced the batteries twice. I only turn on and off the tuner when i first pick it up and i plugged it to an amp once for about 30 minutes. Never left it on. The low battery light is on. Is that normal?

2 - The action seems to be high. More noticeable from the 9th fret down. Should I take it in and have the action lowered? I have a free service from the store i purchased it from.

3 - Since I'm a beginner/intermediate I'm still having problems with bar chords (F's and B's mostly) and I find the 0.12"s it comes with are very thick and hard to press down without creating buzzing. Can I get away with replacing them with 11's or even 10's?

I thank you in advance for your help.

Fern

Hi and welcome.

First, changing batteries twice in one week is definitely not normal, if it's not plugged into the amp it shouldn't be using any juice at all. I've had the same batteries in my Masterbuilt for more than a year, l just checked and they're still fine. Sounds like you have a faulty eSonic system, which is covered by the warranty,take it back to the shop.

Are you sure problems 2 and 3 are not the same thing? If the action is high barre chords will be difficult whichever strings you use. Having said that, string choice is a totally personal thing, you can have whatever size you like on there. You're going to have to take it back to the store to get the eSonic replaced anyway, so while it's there get them to do a full setup ( which they should have done when they sold you the guitat) and that should make it much easier to play.

Hope that helps. Let us know how you get on.

Hello Fern, and welcome here.