Gibson Brands Forums

Help a novice w/ an ID

VBC

Hi. I recently inherited this Gibson amp, electric guitar, & original (at least my entire lifetime) case from my father. There are no serial numbers. My best guess is that it's from the early to mid-1950's, perhaps an ES 150??? No idea re the amp. Can anyone ID either for me? Any help much appreciated!post-75035-062278000 1447874828_thumb.jpgpost-75035-032974400 1447874842_thumb.jpgpost-75035-091613900 1447874858_thumb.jpgpost-75035-020437300 1447874883_thumb.jpgpost-75035-073944100 1447874896_thumb.jpg

Hello and welcome....

Wow.. that's some real nice gear you have there [thumbup]

Went and looked the amp up.. Its a 1946 Gibson BR-4 Tube Amp... As for the guitar, im no expert on guitars like that but if you shine a light into the top F hole there may be a serial number in there on a label and if there is it may show the model name too. (but yes it looks like a 150 to my eyes). :)

Hello and welcome....

Wow.. that's some real nice gear you have there [thumbup]

Went and looked the amp up.. Its a 1946 Gibson BR-4 Tube Amp... As for the guitar, im no expert on guitars like that but if you shine a light into the top F hole there may be a serial number in there on a label and if there is it may show the model name too. (but yes it looks like a 150 to my eyes). :)

It's definitely a Gibson ES 150, but based on the headstock logo, it's from the vintage of 1946 to 1947.

Worth right around $2,400 USD.

:mellow:

wow, i need to come to Alabama to start getting use gear, because here in the north east, that would go for twice that much being in that condition.