Gibson Brands Forums

Guitar refret

Berserker82

Hi all, I'm relatively new to the guitar playing world and would love your input! I have a 71 gibson j40. I've had some work done to it and my luthier says it is in need of a refret, which will cost me $250.

I have been researching info about fret wear, particularly what are playing signs that worn frets are a problem. I play it and notice some things but aren't sure if its related to worn frets or my technique or something else. Soo...

What will I notice with worn frets as it pertains to needing a refret? And along the same lines, what should I notice after I get the refret complete? Benefits?

I've had a few refrets done. The only reason I would do it is that there are wear grooves in the frets that are causing me problems that are too deep to be be dressed down. I usually get my frets dressed down before they get too bad.

I'm not sure what kind of problems you are having to say what differences you will notice.

First of all, fret wear is normal and can be minimized through a soft fretting hand, but not eliminated. In particular bendings and buzz due to low string action eat up frets.

Take a close look at the fret crowns and check for wear. You may find more wear on some frets beneath some strings. This is where the problem starts. Were all the frets of a specific string worn about the same, there wouldn't be a problem except for a very subtle difference in intonation. However, frets worn much more and such significantly lower than others are the reason for the string's buzzing at the following fret of larger height.

Depending on degree and variation of wear there are two possible solutions. If there is basically enough height left in the frets worn the most, levelling all of them can do for a certain period, if not, the guitar calls for refretting.