Gibson Brands Forums

Help ID A Gibson Bass

harveypb

I picked up this Gibson Bass at a flea market and I'm not sure what model it is, if it actually is a genuine Gibson or if it has been modified. Looks like an EB3 with the slotted headstock (which is broken off)I looked in the electronics cavity and it looks pretty original except for the 4 way switch which looks like it was changed out for a Rhythm/Treble switch. All other solder connections look original. The pickup wires look like they are made with unshielded wires which makes me think that its not an original Gibson bass... Have a look at the pics and let me know what you think the model is, if its truly a Gibson product and what you think might have been done to it. Thanks in Advance, Harvey

post-75182-051792700 1449435174_thumb.jpg

post-75182-036645100 1449435184_thumb.jpg

Hello Harvey, and welcome here.

This bass obviously suffered at least one bad mishap. I'm not that experienced in Gibson history, so I can't contribute anything you already haven't found out. I think that hi-res close-up pics could be helpful for more experienced members to find out something more. It's best to use a cloud account at photobucket or the like and link the pics here.

Good luck!

I picked up this Gibson Bass at a flea market and I'm not sure what model it is, if it actually is a genuine Gibson or if it has been modified. Looks like an EB3 with the slotted headstock (which is broken off)I looked in the electronics cavity and it looks pretty original except for the 4 way switch which looks like it was changed out for a Rhythm/Treble switch. All other solder connections look original. The pickup wires look like they are made with unshielded wires which makes me think that its not an original Gibson bass... Have a look at the pics and let me know what you think the model is, if its truly a Gibson product and what you think might have been done to it. Thanks in Advance, Harvey

Here's more pics

sg1_zpsga8wkqdy.jpg