Gibson Brands Forums

Which SG edition is qualitatively the best one?

Chain

Hello there

I am looking for a Gibson SG and was wondering which edition is the qualitatively best one. I couldn't find a list with all the limited SG's produced so far, hence I can't decide. Is, for example, the standard custom 2010 VOS with maestro vibrola and 2 pickups or a reissued historic art custom with 3 pickups and maestro vibrola superior compared to the editions from other years? Thank you very much in advance.

Hello and welcome...

Well im no SG expert but im sure someone else will say this, unfortunately the question you ask is impossible to answer.

One of the things you learn quickly on here is that everyone is different and we all look for different things from our guitars as in how they look, play and sound and guess what, we all have a different opinion on everything :)....

However, if you let us know what it is you are looking for as in, sound wise and look wise or specific features you want, maybe what sort of music you want to play on it.. Do you want P90s etc.. That way at least maybe we could narrow down what you are looking for.

Every year and model has good and bad examples.. So doing it by year is not the best way to look for what you want....

Well I hope that at least helps a tiny bit.. Looking for that right guitar can take some time, but its well worth the effort.. Good luck [thumbup]

That aesthetics etc. are to some part subjective comes not as a surprise. But since I cannot play on all different models, asking for the qualitatively 'best' one was a try to see whether one or another model appears to be the favourite one of many or to hear of a model I have not heard of so far.

But then, another question: Is there a list of all the limited/special edition Gibson produced so far? I couldn't fine one.

I am looking for a limited/special edition the price of which can be high.

Chain,

Do you desire to purchase a new SG, or a used one?