Gibson Brands Forums

Gibson archtop black 1930's guitar, F holes

S Martin

I recently acquired a older Gibson black archtop with F holes from my aunts family. All I know about it is that was given to her in 1941 for her 9th birthday and was used (not new) at that time. She played the guitar for over 60 years and then it got put away until I acquired it. It is "well used" condition, missing 2 strings, wear on the frets and fret board but otherwise appears sound. I plan on keeping the guitar in my family, not trying to sell it. My son plays and would love to play it occasionally. What I am looking for is any and all information about the guitar (model, year, etc). I will give you all the info I can but if you have more questions, let me know. As I am not a guitar expert, type slow so I can comprehend. [smile]

It does have a number visible through the lower F hole. It appears to be "F810 11" with the "F810" stamped in black and the "11" handwritten in red. (See photo) I believe that is the FON number.

Dimensions:

Widths of body

widest: 16"

waist 9 1/4"

upper 11 1/4"

length of body: 20 1/4"

overall length: 40 1/4

In my short search for knowledge, I believe that it is a L-50, but since I could not find an exact match I cannot be sure. For example, some would have only the white binding on the front, this one has white binding on both front and back.

I have attached some photos.

I certainly appreciate any assistance in finding all I can about this guitars history.

Thanks a bunch!

Scott

post-76074-095918100 1452019755_thumb.jpg

post-76074-056334300 1452019770_thumb.jpg

post-76074-082626200 1452019796_thumb.jpg

post-76074-021058100 1452019823_thumb.jpg

post-76074-086550500 1452019840_thumb.jpg

post-76074-064020100 1452019872_thumb.jpg

post-76074-067563900 1452019897_thumb.jpg

post-76074-077509100 1452019919_thumb.jpg

post-76074-013082000 1452019946_thumb.jpg