Gibson Brands Forums

Advice on Gibson Hawk - caps and output tran

MrMojoRison

Hi all, I'm new here and I tried using the search for help but couldnt find much.

I've found this Hawk GA 25RVT. (6V6 version w/ 15" 8 ohm) When turned on the jewel lights up and all the tubes light up but the amp is dead silent. Passes no signal. So i pulled the output transformer and it has a failed primary. So I'm looking at getting a new one of those. But while I'm doing that I figure I should probably do the caps too. They look good and hold juice (i had to discharge them). S

Is there a good resource out there that can explain to me how to test these caps and where can I find replacements. This is the first amp I've ever torn into so anything helps.

It would be nice to get the transformer and caps from the same place.

Also, i was told that if i dont replace the caps and put a new transformer in it a faulty cap could fry the transformer. True?

Again, I'm new to this whole thing so your patience is appreciated.

Thanks

Jake

You'll want to replace the electrolytic caps if they're more than about 10 years old. Don't bother trying to test the caps. It's very complicated and that's not what's normally done. Just replace them. Amplified Parts has most stuff.

As far as the power xfmr goes, Mercury Magnetics makes one in their ToneClone line that lists for $197. Call Patrick Selfridge at Mercury Magnetics. See here - http://www.mercurymagnetics.com/pages/mainframe.htm

I didn't see any made by Classic Tone. I didn't see any at Mojotone, Allen Amplification, Amplified Parts or anywhere else.

If you have any other questions, ask here or on Facebook at Tennessee Amplifier

Thanks everyone.

The old caps are RCA 15uF 450V. They are the kind that are in a paper tube opposing each other. 2 tubes, 4 caps in total. I was referred to triodeelectronics.com and found some sprague 16uF 475V caps. They don't look the same as the originals but have (from what I understand) acceptable values.