Gibson Brands Forums

Gibson ES - 175 D 1976 ???

Gox0405

Hi ! I am trying to find if this guitar is the "real deal". Can you guys hellp me ?

I want to know if this is an Original 1976 Gibson ES 175 made in Kalamazoo factory.

My link

My link

My link

My link

My link

My link

My link

The headstock has some scars under the tuners, they were changed. I never saw ES-175 with those nickled tuners before, i've always saw those with pearlish buttons.

The guitar does not have the Gibson sticker inside of her either. The owner wrote his name on the headstock bell... Nad Installed a jack plate.

So, what do you think ??

Hi ! I am trying to find if this guitar is the "real deal". Can you guys hellp me ?

I want to know if this is an Original 1976 Gibson ES 175 made in Kalamazoo factory.

It looks legit to me, but then again, I have very little experience with an ES-175.

It is certainly a well-used player's guitar.

How much does the seller want for it?

:mellow:

Hello Gox, and welcome to the board.

The metal head tuners may have been stock then. I can only guess why the huge jack plate had been mounted. Perhaps a structural damage? Doesn't look to me, but if she was a nice player and the price was OK, then why not? The truss-rod bell is no big deal; it can be replaced with a new one.

She looks clearly legit to me, but I wouldn't consider her an investment. Tone, playability, and value for money would make my decision.

Hope this helps.

This looks to be a mid-70s Norlin era ES175 (with 3-piece neck) which has been stripped and also refretted, as there do not seem to be any 'nibs'.

The bridge is non-standard and looks like a Schaller; note the black tapewound strings, heavy La Bellas.

The jack plate mod is probably because it got damaged. The 175 jack socket is simply screwed into a hole in the laminated side of the guitar and if you remove the metal plate I expect you might see some signs of previous damage.