Gibson Brands Forums

EJ-200CES Nut Slot Height?

Roger...

Hi All,

I'm a newbie to the forum. I have three Stratocasters and have been doing my own setups for many years. However recently I have purchased a new Epiphone EJ-200CES acoustic guitar. The first acoustic I've had for about 40 years so need a bit of info from you experts out there.

Following purchase I was feeling that the action was too high to be comfortable. At the 12th fret it measured 8/64's (6th string) and 6/64's (1st string). A bit of careful sanding of the bridge saddle bought this down to 7/64's (6th) and 5/64's (1st) which is Epiphone recommended.

The measurement between the top of the 1st fret and the underside of the 6th string is 0.032" and 0.026" for the 1st string.

Putting a Capo across the 3rd fret and taking these measurements again gave me 0.010" on 6th string and 0.009" on the 1st.

Am I right in thinking that these are a tad high? I have done as much research as I can and all the articles I can find seem to indicate that they should be a bit lower.

Your thoughts please?

Kind regards

Roger

Hi, I have cut a few nuts in my time, they generally seem too high and if a F chord (not barred) is anything but creamy I get the file out. But as in all things, be careful. Don't go at it all at once and make sure you keep the angle away from the neck so you don't end up screwing up the intonation or getting a funny buzz. Or take it to a tech.

The action of your EJ-200SCE seems indeed a tad high at the nut, especially concerning the treble side; 12th-fret action seems nominal.

Gibson's official acoustic specifications are as follows:

• 1st fret treble side - 1/64" (0.396875mm)
  • 1st fret bass side - 2/64" (0.79375mm)
  • 12th fret treble side - 5/64" (1.98438mm)
  • 12th fret bass side - 7/64" (2.77812mm)

If a file doesn't do the trick, a luthier definitely would. Before you do anything, though, I'd recommend to properly adjust the truss rod first and recheck the string heights.