Gibson Brands Forums

Effects

Roach

Do effects processors like a digitech multi effects stomp box, (rp50), actually take away everything that the guitar itself is made to do? I mean does it defeat the purpose of actually owning the guitar that these things are attempting to emulate? I guess what im asking is, after buying this awesome 2016 LP studio am i just preventing it from doing what it is made to do by processing the signal in such a way? I wonder if using such a box, am i even hearing my guitar anymore?

I am new to effects, but it seems like what i am really looking for is a marshall stack, or at least that sort of tone/sound at bedroom wanker volume tho. I guess everyone struggles with finding the tone they want eh. I was a drummer, i just banged on the drum...lol it was easier...

I don't know much about multi-fx's, but I am using digital reverb pedal.

I plug it into my amp's fx-loop, it sounds like my guitar through my amp but with reverb.

If I had noticed that it changed the signal to something that didn't sound like my guitar trough my amp, I wouldn't have kept it.

Once I was looking for one of those multi-thingies, the ones that looked best to me were Boss and Zoom.

Hmm, I guessing if I played any of my solid guitars through a cranked Marshall stack then the predominant sound I'd be hearing would be cranked Marshall stack anyway. On say a Fender clean with some reverb then I'd expect the guitar to define itself far more.

I had a go at a zoom multi fx pedal and it was fun for that sort of thing so just enjoy it for what it is and don't worry about it - when I buy a LP it will probably be a black Studio too. [thumbup]

The answer is no. Every guitar put through one of these units will sound different to each other. You guitar wont lose its identity.

If you are talking about FX such as gain boost, delay, chorus etc. Its an easy choice. These FX can be configured to how you want them to sound.