Gibson Brands Forums

Early 1965 Country Western

220volt

I got offer to buy early (made in January '65) 1965 Country Western with wider nut for $2,500 + shipping. In great shape. Some scratches and weather checking, but that's about it. Bridge was replaced with similar one (still adjustable), but everything else is in great shape and original. Case is not original though. $2,500 seems little high to me, since I've seen those go for less, but I'm pretty new to vintage Gibsons and seen prices vary widely, so I might need help from some more experienced Gibsonians here :)

Thanks in advance

I got offer to buy early (made in January '65) 1965 Country Western with wider nut for $2,500 + shipping. In great shape. Some scratches and weather checking, but that's about it. Bridge was replaced with similar one (still adjustable), but everything else is in great shape and original. Case is not original though. $2,500 seems little high to me, since I've seen those go for less, but I'm pretty new to vintage Gibsons and seen prices vary widely, so I might need help from some more experienced Gibsonians here :)

Thanks in advance

You came to the right town - CW's are very intriguing guitars and something tells me '65 was a good year.

Regarding the square Gibsons, Kalamazoo began to change a few things during that year :

Narrower nut width, and different shaped back-braces (knife-like, not flat upper edge/side). This might have started as soon as 64, where narrower shoulders also were seen.

You must post 3 or 4 pics.

Of the overall guitar and close-ups of the width / neck's 4 first frets and a shot inside the box through the hole (don't have to dive in).

Since it's a January release, the width could be still be a 11/16. Mine 65'er is 9/16, but has something really special in its voice I can't let it pass so play it capoed on the second.