Gibson Brands Forums

2016 HUMMINGBIRD VINTAGE

BirdMan81

Hello all. This is my first post and I just wanted to introduce myself. I'm 35 years old, male, from Maine. I've been playing guitar for the past 15 years (played in a band in college) and now just play for fun. I am by no means an EXPERT but I can strum, have rhythm and can finger pick and can noodle around in some scales. My musical influences are Bob Dylan, Neil Young, Beatles, Pink Flyod, Johny Cash, Rolling Stones, and some newer stuff like Sublime, Lumineers, Pearl Jam etc etc. (Too many great artists to list here)

When I played in a band back in college, we mostly did original rock with a few covers. I had a nice Martin D-16RGT and a Standard Tele with a mint condition 1964 Fender Deluxe Reverb Amp. I sold all my gear after I stopped playing in the band 10 years ago and have been playing on an Appluase plastic round back guitar that cost $100.... Funny enough it actually sounds somewhat ok. Anyways, I'm in the market for a guitar that I'll have for the rest of my life and will be able to pass on to my son (currently 9 months old) assuming he even likes to play.

I'm looking at the following guitars:

2016 Hummingbird Vintage

J45/Southern Jumbo

Martin HD-28 or HD-35

I know they are all different animals and Any feed back on these above would be gladly appreciated, but the reason for this post is the Hummingbird. I have the following questions: