Gibson Brands Forums

Bone bridge pins?

Dennis G

So thinking out loud here...I have a Masterbilt AJ500M, and it has a bone nut and saddle, but as near as I can tell, the bridge pins are plastic. Any noticeable difference in anything if I upgrade or should I just leave well enough alone?

Bridge pins are, in my experience, a lot of fun. Sometimes I change 'em for the sake of appearance: add or subtract bling, coordinate with my twisted sense of visual aesthetics, and such. Most often, the change does nothing for or against tone quality or volume. Again, in my experience, there are exceptions and, when they happen, they are significant. I do not believe that stock plastic pins are the great Satan. Badly WORN plastic pins are on the path to exacerbating problems with tone, though. The wear that counts most is where the string's ball end meets the pin. A thusly worn pin lets the ball end chew into the bridge plate at an above normal rate and you're on the way to problems. Enter the bone bridge pin: install a set early on, and you postpone eventual problems since bone will wear more slowly than plastic. I wouldn't expect an improvement, but you'll keep the original sound lots longer. In the event that your bridge plate has some erosion, but hasn't split or come to the point of needing replaced, my top suggestion for bridge pins is brass. They have given me a threefold improvement on several of my older acoustic guitars. First, the volume improves. Second, the tone gets a boost. Third, string response becomes more even (dead string problem disappears). If the brass pins don't do the job, installing a brass Plate Mate usually will. That failing, it's time for a trip to the luthier. Thanks for bearing with me through this long-winded diatribe. Hope some part of it's helpful!