Gibson Brands Forums

Single Piece Body on Explorer?

markizme

Hey Gang, thanks for your time. I just purchased a 2003 Natural finish Gibson Explorer from GC. It came with Gibson's Dirty Fingers p'ups in it. It was delivered yesterday, and I'm really liking the sound. My question, I thought all Gibson Explorers had a one piece body. The tail that fits under my arm while I play appears to be laminated to the rest of the body. It is a wonderful guitar, but am I confused on it not being a solid piece of mahogany? Thanks in advance gang!

Hi and welcome to the Forum.

I'm no expert but I've never seen a one-piece body on an Explorer either.

Most I've seen are, like cjsinla's mentioned above, 3-piece.

I would have thought the cost of making a one-piece would be prohibitive.

First-off the blanks would have to be massively wide - much bigger than anything else normally used by Gibson. Availability might be an issue.

Secondly the waste-material associated with a one-piece construction would be ridiculous.

If anyone out there knows more on the subject I'd be interested to read about it.

Pip.

Hello and welcome to this board. [thumbup]

Up to now I never saw an Explorer with a definite one-piece body. Mine has a solid colour and no clearly distinguishable seams although the finish is a quite rough, uneven, satin Governmental Tan - see my avatar. [biggrin] Therefore I have been quite interested in that point, too.