Gibson Brands Forums

ES-135 Neck Join Crack

brotarist

Hey Guys,

First post here, didn't see much info on the net so I thought I'd ask the experts here.

Just picked up an 1997 ES-135 two days ago off of craigslist. Thought I inspected the guitar thoroughly, got it for a pretty good price. I'm a jazz guitarist by trade so I restrung the guitar with .13s immediately upon getting it home. I believe the guitar was strung with .10s or .11s by the previous owner.

Guitar sounds and plays great, got the intonation and action happening with the new strings.

Yesterday, to my horror, I notice what seems to be a crack at the neck join. I have previously owned a 1960s ES-125TDC that I had to have a neck reset on due to the neck lifting off the body. I ended up having to sell the guitar as it could not handle the strings I play. I was told this was due to the guitar not having a proper dovetail neck joint. I immediately loosened the string tension on the ES-135 upon noticing the "crack"...

Called Gibson customer service, and emailed them a picture and explanation of the problem. No word back yet, not holding my breath...

Today I took the guitar to the local guitar shop and had the (excellent) tech look at it. He seemed to think that the crack was just finish shrinkage at the neck join, though he seemed puzzled that the finish wear was stronger on the treble side of the guitar. He advised me to keep on playing the guitar and just keep an eye on the join.

My question to you guys is have any of you experienced or heard of this problem on ES-135s? Does anyone have any knowledge of what the construction of the neck join is on these guitars? If so... Can these guitars safely handle high gauge strings? Playing lower gauge strings is not an option for me, though I understand for many that would be the logical solution.