Gibson Brands Forums

help for my '61 GA-5T

robroy

Thanks for checking in! I recently acquired an awesome ga-5t that just began to act up: upon startup in begins crackling and then an ugly squeal..... that stops after a few seconds and then it's quiet again and remains that way until I turn it off.

I haven't had this amp very long, maybe a little over a month now. I just had a grounded cord installed and I wonder if something done then might be contributing to the problem. It wasn't having this issue right after I had that done but within a week or so.

I'm a total newbie with a few tools..... are there some obvious easy things to look for or should I just take it back to the repair shop? thanks much!

You could try swapping the tubes out, one at a time, with new tubes and see if that fixes it. But it's quite likely that old components inside the amp are causing the problem. You'll want to bring it to a good shop and have them replace any electrolytic capacitors that are beyond their service life, which is like 10 years or so. Sometimes it's best to just strip out lots of the old stuff and replace it. If you could post a pic or two of the inside of the chassis maybe I could give you some tips on what to look for. Include the new 3 prong wiring so I can double check that work. [thumbup]

It does appear to be a 1961 model. The power transformer has been replaced at some point. Here's a link to the schematic. If you don't have a copy print it out and keep it. You could even make a small copy and glue it to the inside of the cabinet somewhere if there's not already one there.

http://el34world.com/charts/Schematics/files/gibson/Gibson_GA-5T_61_Skylark.pdf