Gibson Brands Forums

Upgrade pickups

Z3P

I just started playing guitar again after a 25 year break. I forgot how much i enjoyed playing.

I dug out my epi les paul standard that i bought new back in 1989. Question i have for you all is should i upgrade pickups to gibson burstbucker pros? Will it better the sound or should i just get a used gibson.

I like(d) Burstbuckers, but I'm not sure they're the pup of choice for A Les Paul. PAF '57s? Or ProBuckers?

Take your time. I'm sounding like a broken record about it, but do check out the new PlusTop Pro's (with ProBuckers) from Epiphone as well.

Thank You both for your replies. Not 100% sure but think I am getting dirty finger in bridge for ozzy type stuff and classic 57 in neck for zeppelin type stuff.

Is it nessary to also change pots?

Just keep in mind that the pickups you mentioned will cost about as much as the guitar is worth. You may consider looking at a new guitar.

Just my 2 cents. Certainly Do whatever benefits you.

Best of luck!

just get a used gibson.

Well when you consider the price of a covered set of Gibsons pick-ups new and hopefully you don't need Gold thats about a $400 set. Depends how much you like the guitar your playing, You know Gibson Specials are the entry level Gibsons and historically priced pretty well. For a hundred or so more you could be rocking a 60 Tribute SG with BB 1 and 2s or something similar.

The flip side is if the guitar is an exceptionally nice player youve become accustomed to then you may want to upgrade. Sentimental attachment too. [biggrin]

I'll throw some other upgrade options your direction, with the Burstbucker Pro set as reference.

Gibson Burstbucker Pro - $300 for a set

Seymour Duncan Seth Lover set - $235 gold, $198 nickel

Seymour Duncan '59 Set - $130 no cover, $193 gold

DiMarzio PAF 36th Anniversary - $150 gold, nickel, black or zebra

Stewart MacDonald ("StewMac") Golden Age humbuckers - $95 black / zebra no cover, $120 nickel or gold