Gibson Brands Forums

Clip-on Guitar Tuners

Jim Wilson

I've seen them for sale, but don't know anyone using one that I'm aware of. For me it's a lot of money for a tuner, but maybe they're much more accurate than their standard competition. I use clip-on tuners (a couple Deltalabs and a Korg) and they seem to work well. Got six Tascam solar-powered tuners for $6 each on one of Musicians Friend Stupid Deal of The Day emails. I've attached them to six of my guitar cases, so that I've always got a back-up tuner if I forget to bring one my standbys.

Jim,

I have a friend at work who enjoys his Peterson tuner, but I have no personal experience with them.

I do have a Snark or two, and one each Fender California series clip-on tuner, and I must say, I like the Fender model MUCH better.

It's more intuitive, it's small and lightweight, the display is bright and readable, and it works like a champ, every time.

:)

Does anyone have any experience with the Peterson StroboClip SC-1 guitar tuner?

I've had mine a couple of months...I regretted buying it at first but have warmed to it. Obviously very accurate...but it can be quite frustrating trying to get it spot on. Is that level of accuracy needed? I don't know. I still have to tweak my low E and high E on my J-15 after I've tuned. In the past I've used Planet Waves tuners which did what they are supposed to do. The big advantage (for me) of the Stroboclip is the large, clear, bright display that I can read with no problems. If I had better eyesight I would have stuck with the Planet Waves.

I have the TC Electronic Polytune Clip-on. The "poly thing" is not so much to my liking but regular tuning with it is absolutely great.

PolyTune Clip is the latest and best and brightest, easily, no contest - probably most expensive but!