Gibson Brands Forums

Gibson Les Paul Standard vs Epiphone Les Paul Custom?

fannar182

Hey guys.. I was hoping you could help me.

I got my Epiphone Les Paul Custom 10 years ago and it was my main guitar for 8 years.. 2 years ago I bought a Gibson Les Paul Standard because it was my dream guitar and I've been playing that for 2 years now.

When I first got it (the Gibson) I thought it was great but the Epiphone neck was somehow faster and more smooth but I've bought a Gibson and I was always going to use that as my main guitar. I thought I would just have to get used to the Gibson neck and after 1-2 years it would feel more comfortable to play it rather then the Epi.

1 week ago I picked up my Epiphone (it had been laying in my room in its case) and started playing it, just goofing around and man.. It feels so much better then my Gibson.. I couldn't believe it. The neck is so ''fast'' comparing with the Gibson and it just feels right. And I hate to admit it because its Epiphone, not Gibson.

What could it be that makes me like the Epiphone better rather then the Gibson? Why do I think the Epi neck is much ''faster'' and smoother? I've taken both the guitars to a professional luthier here in my country but still I think the Epiphone is better.

What should I do? Sell my Gibson Les Paul Standard and buy a Custom? Maybe a PRS instead? People have been telling me if I want a really fast neck I should sell my Gibson and buy a PRS.

Neck shapes are a matter of freference, obviously that is most of what is going on here.

Buying a better or more expensive guitar is not a given you will like it more. That doesn't make you weird or wrong, and it doesn't even mean one guitar is better than the other.