Gibson Brands Forums

Gibson J-50, Hummingbird, or fake

I'm brand new to the Gibson Guitar Board and really new to playing guitars too - one month into it but I've got the bug. I currently play a Seagull S6, but while it is in with the luthier for a set up I was looking around and found this. I am by no means an expert in anything guitar related, especially Gibson, but want to know if this is real or fake.

I've yet to see it in person, just want to have my ducks in a row before looking at it. This is what I've been told to date.

Gibson J-50 (they said it may be a Hummingbird too).

I can't locate a serial number in the photos.

Concerns - the fretboard is not one I've seen on a J-50, neither is the Sunburst.

The Hummingbird pickguard - were these engraved - this one is not.

How can I tell if it is real or if it is fake?

Thanks for your help.

db

post-78739-097029900 1463324374_thumb.jpg

post-78739-091051200 1463324383_thumb.jpg

post-78739-039917600 1463324393_thumb.jpg

post-78739-011440200 1463324401_thumb.jpg

post-78739-060278400 1463324410_thumb.jpg

post-78739-027768500 1463324419_thumb.jpg

post-78739-057754000 1463324431_thumb.jpg

post-78739-032361300 1463324439_thumb.jpg

post-78739-082658800 1463324447_thumb.jpg

This may take a while.

I see a few issues right off, besides what you noted. It has a Norlin era label, but the headstock looks to me to be almost a perfect 50's shape, maybe. It also has a 3 screw truss rod cover, which I THINK was used sometime around the Norlin era for a short time.

It seems possible this guitar is a highly modified one, but just as likely to me it's a 70's fake. The pics aren't that good to be able to see.

There are many here who are very familiar with Norlin era flat tops, they may be able to spot more details and important clues.

I might point out that even if this guitar can be authenticated, and perhaps the "mods" (if there are some) identified, it should be priced very cheap.