Gibson Brands Forums

CS-336 CAR

lars-ake

Hi!

I'm a noob here and on electric guitars in common. [laugh] I live in Sweden.

I'm waiting for a delivery of a pre owned mint condition CS-336 with non reverse head stock, diamond holes in candy apple red and supposedly '57 buckers. Serial number starts CS40 so that would be 2014 made in Nashville I Think. There seems to be little to find out on these guitars. The only facts I've found were on the Wildwood specials and on the Gibson site there's only the 336 with the regular head stock. There are a few ads (for this model) from european stores on the web. Does anyone here know anything to fill out gaps for me?

post-78712-040879200 1463402356_thumb.jpg

The only ones like this that I'm aware of are from the special runs done for Wildwood. It might be worth contacting them for the exact specs.

The diamond holes and headstock make this version of the CS-336 like a small-bodied version of the Gibson Trini Lopez Model, which was a variant of the ES-335. Dave Grohl from the Foo Fighters is a fan of the Trini Lopez models, and his own signature Gibson custom shop model is very similar. His popularity may have had something to do with Wildwood wanting have Gibson create these smaller versions.

Good luck with yours!

Hello there and welcome..

I just found one in a UK store

http://www.dawsons.co.uk/gibson-custom-shop-cs-336-diamond-f-hole-candy-apple-red

Gibson Custom Shop CS-336 Diamond F-Hole - Candy Apple Red

• Custom built ES-336 with carved maple top

• Single-piece mahogany back and sides

• Single-piece rosewood fingerboard

• ABR bridge combines vintage looks with modern performance

• Nickel hardware for absolute precision

• Custom Buckers for exceptional tonal control

• Rich candy apple red