Gibson Brands Forums

Why I just bought a WM-00

Jesse_Dylan

http://rvrb.io/wm-00-fjk

I bought this guitar today after a few days of total obsession, a few months of serious chin-scratching, a few years of serious contemplation, and about 10 years of regrets.

Bear with me. This will get rambly.

I started playing guitar in 1999, when I was 17. I borrowed my dad's Japanese Fender jumbo, and I went at it. It was big and scary, and I wanted a smaller guitar. Near the end of 1999 (although all the details are fuzzy), I got a Martin Backpacker. It was a silly little thing, but it actually made a pretty decent "learner." It was not as intimidating or loud as the jumbo.

I had been reading Dad's Acoustic Guitar Magazines as well. I absolutely obsessed over a "flattops under $500" article. There wasn't as much internet in those days, but I used that as well. I didn't know what to buy. My heart said Gibson, Martin, Guild. My wallet said "urghh" which broke my heart. I nearly bought a Fender dreadnought, but my love for a GREEN Guild mahogany/spruce kept me from it, and my lack of funds kept me from the Guild.

In early 2000, Acoustic Guitar had an article about small guitars. I obsessed over this even more than the "Flattops Under $500" article (because I had already figured out I did not want a guitar under $500--already a guitar snob, even as I resented the prices of the ones I wanted!).