Gibson Brands Forums

Les Paul Traditional 2015 vs SG Standard 2016

ChrisF

Hello guys, I recently bought a Les Paul traditional 2015, which I really like. I don't care about the Gforce tuners or the neck profile (I actually like them) and the Lp signature or the hologram are not a problem for me.

The thing is, I went back to the store where I bought it yesterday with my Lp just to get a nice strap for it, but then I saw a nice looking SG standard 2016 so I decided to give it a try.

I plugged it in and I really liked it. I started comparing it to my Lp and found the sound to be crispier, and Power chords were more agressive. I'm no expert and can't tell much of a difference between sounds, but I kept switching from one to another using the same amp and the difference was there.

I know the owner so I told him and he told me "Well, if you think you like the SG better, you can return the Lp and get it instead".

Now I don't really know what to do, I like the sound of the Sg and it seems to give a richer distorted sound, definetely a more agressive one, pretty much what I was looking for since I really like hard rock.

In the other hand, I got the Lp for a very nice price and I don't think I will ever be able to get a brand new Traditional at this price again, while the Sg price is just the regular one.

Overall I really like this Les Paul, and the only thing that is holding me back is the sound. I really love SGs but since I know they are more affordable, I know I can get them for this same price in a year or two, or even cheaper.

Notice that I'm only talking about the sound, they both feel comfortable to play. I really like the fact that the Lp also comes with a case, while the Sg only brings a Gigbag.

PS: The Lp comes with 59' tribute humbuckers, what do you think about these pickups?

The LP comes with 59' tribute humbuckers, what do you think about these pickups?...