Gibson Brands Forums

Who is the best YouTube guitar teacher for semi-beginner :)

I do know music pretty well, since I have played a violin/fiddle for 20 some years but I really would like to learn more about playing guitar and expand my music skills.

I have self taught myself guitar chords for a while now (about 4 years) and I would like to do more than just chords. I would like to learn how to do guitar riffs, more soloist things and more complex, jazz like chords and progressions.

I know, taking lessons from a real person would be the most ideal, but like most musicians, I can't afford it at the moment, so my questions is, who is the best guitar teacher on YouTube that can help me expand my guitar skills?

Thanks a lot!!

PS Don't worry, as soon as I have some extra cash... in like a few years ;) (kidding) I will get a real teacher! I just want some things to work on now.

• 2 weeks later...
  • 2 weeks later...
  • 3 weeks later...

Two things that work for me.

I pay for my Internet by the GB, so off-line is more economical. For that, by far, the best product I have found is Rocksmith 2014.

The best online lessons I have found is from Guitar Mastery Method. Tons of videos, downloadble tabs and lesson sheets, live streaming lessons, and links to editing tools, metronomes and other cool stuff.

• 1 month later...

Yes, Justin Sandercoe (www.justinguitar.com) is a very generous person for providing so many FREE tutorials on YouTube and on his website.

And I do remember PrivateTricker who sadly had to let go of his YouTube Channel (he got harassed and intimated by some bullies); he moved on and created the channel under "James James". PrivateTricker is still accessible (it includes covers as well as tutorials), but the comment section has been disabled since that event. He's a real nice guy. All of his tutorials are free as well. :)