Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

alternate picking - solved

#1 User is offline   Roach 

• Advanced Member
  • Group: Members

Posted 18 June 2016 - 03:27 PM

I played drums for decades. Always had a little fantasy about guitar, got serious a few times then frustrated , stopped, started again a few times, but when i got my 2015 Les Paul Studio i got serious again. As a former drummer i could not understand why i was having an impossible time maintaining a steady 16th note pattern with up down picking over 80 bpm, even just on one string. OVER NIGHT i found the solution and (literally last night). I turn 48 next month this was an absolute life changer for me and i am just amazed that nobody ever told me this. i was using the end of my first finger and thumb to hold the pick. It was more than wrong, the tip of pick would end up facing backwards and id miss the string entirely. Yesterday i found this picture online:

https://gyazo.com/67...ecb0687bd0cc452

SOLVED my problem immediately.
Hope my post will help someone else who never had this shown to them and is having the same problem i had.

Posted Image
2015 Les Paul Studio (MM)
2000 Les Paul Special w/hums

Year? Ibanez RG120
Yamaha FS-311 7/8ths scale Acoustic

Marshall JCM2000 DSL 401 12" CG 40w
Line 6 Spyder IV 15
Danelectro HT50 in Nifty Fifty cab
Focusrite Scarlett Solo PC USB interface
SM-57 Mic

#2 User is offline   OldCowboy 

• Advanced Member
  • LocationIndiana - Texas - sometimes Lost

Posted 18 June 2016 - 06:02 PM

Yep, that's the correct way to hold your pick. At your age, you likely haven't noticed, but as you age and get more arthritic, you may find that you start buying larger picks. Not really related to holding position, but just something I find amusing as I survey my stash of active/inactive picks.

#3 User is offline   Roach 

• Advanced Member

Posted 19 June 2016 - 02:59 PM

View PostOldCowboy, on 18 June 2016 - 06:02 PM, said: