Gibson Brands Forums

alternate picking - solved

I played drums for decades. Always had a little fantasy about guitar, got serious a few times then frustrated , stopped, started again a few times, but when i got my 2015 Les Paul Studio i got serious again. As a former drummer i could not understand why i was having an impossible time maintaining a steady 16th note pattern with up down picking over 80 bpm, even just on one string. OVER NIGHT i found the solution and (literally last night). I turn 48 next month this was an absolute life changer for me and i am just amazed that nobody ever told me this. i was using the end of my first finger and thumb to hold the pick. It was more than wrong, the tip of pick would end up facing backwards and id miss the string entirely. Yesterday i found this picture online:

https://gyazo.com/67...ecb0687bd0cc452

SOLVED my problem immediately.

Hope my post will help someone else who never had this shown to them and is having the same problem i had.

Yep, that's the correct way to hold your pick. At your age, you likely haven't noticed, but as you age and get more arthritic, you may find that you start buying larger picks. Not really related to holding position, but just something I find amusing as I survey my stash of active/inactive picks.

Yep, that's the correct way to hold your pick. At your age, you likely haven't noticed, but as you age and get more arthritic, you may find that you start buying larger picks. Not really related to holding position, but just something I find amusing as I survey my stash of active/inactive picks.

i use a standard shap sized pick like in the photo, medium thin. i can see myself using thicker picks as i develop more finesse and ease off on beating on the strings like a drummer would. Fortunately arthritis has not affected me so far... although i do have some pain starting up in my pointer finger of the left hand, making standard C and Am chords more difficult. Im hoping like h it isnt that. ^.